Son with Down syndrome spinal fusion March 29

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Son with Down syndrome spinal fusion March 29

I just found this site, so I hope I can get some responses! My son is 12 years old, Down syndrome, and has scoliosis. His surgery is fast approaching, and I am terrified! I cannot explain it to him (he's cognitivly 4). Any one else with Down's kids with scoliosis? Any advice from anyone is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
    Lura

Lura,
    I wish I could help you with your Down Syndrome situation, but I have no experience in it. My 16 year old daughter has no handicaps to deal with. She was actually able to make her own decisions about her surgery. I think it surprised the doctor and nurses that we just looked at her and said "You've been given all the facts and now you get to make the decision and we will support you in whatever decision you make."

I can understand the terrified about surgery, but you have even more stress than I do. My 16 year old daughter has surgery on 3/15. Fast approaching. We are getting prepared to leave tomorrow afternoon. We have a ranch, so it takes a lot of work round here to leave for even part of a day, let alone a week.

Be sure to read different posts. Some of them are just comforting, and knowing you aren't the only one out there. When you have a fear, just post on your original post. Someone will notice that there is a new post and will sooner or later reply.

I will be checking the posts while we are in at Shriner's Hospital in Portland. So, if you just need to talk, leave a post. I'll be looking for it. I check it on a very regular basis.

I am praying for you and your family.

'til later,
    Nikki

Comment

Nikki,
      Thank you so much for replying so fast! I was afraid I'd posted too late for anyone to respond.
      I will say a prayer for your daughter and her doctors. We are going to Shriner's in Spokane, checking in on Easter Sunday by noon.