Denervation...advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Denervation...advice

I have a 36 degree thoracic lumbar scoliois s curve and my pain management MD suggested 2 medial branch blocks with lidocaine and then if I had 80% or more relief of pain from that, then he could do a denervation. Anyone had experienve w/ this? My pain is mostly a buring R sided pain and pain over the spine. I am in an "8-9" pain in the evening, most evenings. Any help in assisting me to understnad this would be helpful Thanks.
    Adult Onset Degen Scoliosis @65, 25* T & 36* L w/ 11.2 cm coronal balance; T kyphosis 90*; Sev disc degen T & L stenosis

2013: T3- S1 Fusion w/ ALIF L4-S1/XLIF L2-4, PSF T4-S1 2 surgeries
    2014: Hernia @ ALIF repaired; Emergency screw removal SCI T4,5 sec to PJK
    2015: Rev Broken Bil T & L rods and no fusion: 2 revision surgeries; hardware P. Acnes infection
    2016: Ant/Lat Lumbar diskectomy w/ 4 cages + BMP + harvested bone
    2018: Removal L4,5 screw
    2021: Removal T1 screw & rod

First of all, WELCOME!

I am a fellow pain sufferer with relatively small curves also. I have not had denervation, which I'm guessing is the same as nerve ablation? What levels are you having pain and where specifically is your pain?
    Be happy!
    We don't know what tomorrow brings,
    but we are alive today!

Comment

i have had nerve ablation...didn't do much for my severe lumbar pain, though...
      but that is not to say it wouldn't help you....
      the nerves grow back anyway....

jess

Comment

Originally posted by rohrer01 View Post
        First of all, WELCOME!

I am a fellow pain sufferer with relatively small curves also. I have not had denervation, which I'm guessing is the same as nerve ablation? What levels are you having pain and where specifically is your pain?