Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Facing 3rd surgery: Any info on these 2 orthos? (1 in NJ, 1 in NY)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Facing 3rd surgery: Any info on these 2 orthos? (1 in NJ, 1 in NY)

Hi -

This is my first time posting but i've been lurking in here for many years. I am a 38 yr old mother of 2 young children (2 and 4), I am an Occupational Therapist (OTR) by trade (12+ yrs) so i know first-hand what it is like when i see a patient whose had a spinal fusion, spinal surgery or has troubles with ADLs like bathing, dressing, cooking, or just plain anything!

I have had increasing pain over the past several years and this summer, in excruciating debilitating agony, my husband took me to the ER where i was admitted for 2 days due to the pain. In 1993, i have my first (of 2) posterior spinal fusions with Harrington rods. In 1995, i had a revision where they set the rods lower (from T4-L5). My L5-S1 disc is just a sliver of a disc and at this point, according to the 3 orthopedic surgeons i've seen, surgery (and an ENORMOUS and VERY RISKY one at that) is my only option. I saw Dr. David Clements (of Cooper University Hospital in Camden, NJ) and 2 other phila area docs. A family friend recommended i see Dr. Federico Girardi (of Hospital for Special Surgery in NYC) and i'm in the process of making an appointment with him.

Here is what has been proposed to me surgically:
    * anterior transabdominal incision to remove the L5-S1 disc, insert a cage with bone graft and spacer - That's the FIRST surgery (one week passes and i'm still in the hospital)
    * one week later, i have the SECOND surgery - where they will remove my hardware (hooks and Harrington rods), perform osteotomies up and down my spine because as a result of my harrington rod surgeries, i now have something called FLATBACK SYNDROME, which is causing me a lot of pain