Hoping don't get logged out-new and surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hoping don't get logged out-new and surgery

Hi there, Will keep this short as when I go to post I seem to log out.
    I feel like I know most of you. I have a 55 deg thoracolumbar, was 47 deg two years ago and one deg below needing a brace in my teens. Don't have great pain just discomfort and a feeling my torso is collapsing whilst sitting. I'm also feeling more laboured when I walk. Dr Cree (Sydney) said if I don'r have the surgery my discs will likely degenerate causing more pain and deformity. My right hip has always stuck out and this has worsened. The Doc believes my future quality of life will be better with the surgery compared to without. I am booked for the 11 Aug. He plans to fuse from T9 to either T3 or T4. When I asked about the possibility of further fusion on L5 he said he chose levels with the aim of avoiding further surgery.
    Hope I'm tough, I know I will go to hell and hopefully back. Sometimes it feels like a lose lose situation.
    Kelly
    49 yrs
    55 deg thoracolumbar
    Progress 1 hr Nth of Sydney, Australia
    49 yrs
    55 deg thorocolumbar
    Fused T9 to L3, Aug 11th 2011

Yay that worked

I seem to log out when I go to post, maybe it's a time thing.
    Thanks to Jen for your support while I was waiting to get on here. Is anyone else fused T9 to L4? How is your flexibility?
    Kelly
    49 yrs
    55 deg thorocolumbar

Comment

Wiping the Bottom!

Can you wipe your bottom ok with a T9 to L4 fusion? I'm keeping messages short because my post logs out when I write a long post, and it seems independent of what computer I use. Frustrating, I've written some long ones that wouldn't go through.
      Kelly
      49 yrs
      55 deg thorocolumbar

Comment

Kelly--