Surgery Postponed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery Postponed

Well, I have decided to postpone my surgery from April 5 to sometime in the new year, probably Mid February. Circumstances have made me rethink being out of commission and healing at a time when I need to be ready for action. I am a teacher in New York, and as some of you may know there are cuts being made to education like you wouldn't believe... I have no concrete information, but I COULD in theory be told at the end of May that I would be teaching a new grade level at a new school come September - I know that would have been nearly 5 months from surgery, but I CANNOT ever do things halfway, I would be stressed out beyond belief getting ready for a new curriculum, setting up a new classroom, etc. I would not let myself heal properly. From some of the posts I read on this forum, letting yourself heal is SO IMPORTANT!!!!! Also, my son is in his Junior year, he has a BUNCH of things he needs to do in early May through September to get ready for the college process, my other son is making his confirmation, just so many things that make my shoulders climb up to my ears and my muscles to tighten up!! January/February is relatively clear for us - plus I will by then have over 90 sick days so I could take off the rest of the year if necessary..... UGH.

SO... my plan is to get in real good shape in the next ten months so I can recover even better than now. MORE Hot YOGA and cardio, pilates.... any other suggestions? I also want to keep my curves from progressing too much while I wait. I am not in horrible pain - some days I don't even take a regular Tylenol, some days it's prescription Motrin 800mg. Hubby's massage is the most helpful. OH and I am totally buying a new bed Thermopedic with soft top! Anybody have one? I don't know which model is best for a scoli - firm bottom with soft top, all soft, all firm - HELP!!

Thanks for letting me vent.
    Cathy