looking for pain meds that work!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• looking for pain meds that work!!!

Hello, I'm very happy that i am on this site! I'v never talked to anyone with similar problems. I'm 30 years old and had the herrington rod (fusion) when i was 15. I've been doing pretty well for the last ten years with just ocasional lower back pain,until dec 04, I was in a car accident and have been in terrible pain every since. I have a broken rod in my lower back that has moved about 1/4 of an inch (my rod was broke previously due to lower fusion not taking). Anyways i've been seeing alot of doctors recently and finally am going to a pain clinic. I have tried percocet, morphine sulfate, darvocet, vicoden and numerouse muscle relaxers none seem to work. Ive always worked hard and have never been a complainer, but i just cant seem to get my doctor to understand what i'm going thru, I know i need surgery (new hardware) and the doctor keeps telling me to have it done. I dont like sitting at home every day, basically does anyone know of a miracle drug?

Hi Alaskan...

You might check out Duragesic (fentanyl) patches. They're expensive and I think some insurance companies won't cover them, but I've heard only great things about them.

If you know you're going to have to have surgery, I guess I'd encourage you to have it sooner rather than later. Long term use of narcotics can make recovery more difficult.

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment