PDA

View Full Version : First Sergury ever, Less than one month :(

KateScoliKid
01-20-2010, 04:05 PM
Basic info:
Curve: 52* (as of mid October)
Surgeon: Dr. St. Claire
Hospital: C.H.K.D.

Hello! My mom showed me this website and i kinda got hooked on it. My name is Katlin, I'm 16 years old, and I have a 52*( * = degree) curve from T11 to L3. I was diagnosed 2 years ago in the spring of my 8th grade year. I am now in the 10th grade and it was been a rough 2 years for me.

Over the years I've been growing. A year ago my curve was 40* and when I grew it went down to 36*. The doctor I was seeing was till using the x-ray slips and measured by hand (clearly technology didn't catch up to them quickly). But when I stopped growing the curve progressed.

After a year wasted there they referred me to CHKD. The staff at my surgeon's office is very polite and super friendly! I am scheduled to see my surgeon for the last time before this surgery at his office. I guess its for a check up of something like that?

My surgery is scheduled for Febuary 9th and I am scared about the whole thing. :( Of course everyone gets scared when it come to surgery.

Please reply! What should i know pain wise? I will update after my appointment :D

-KateScoliKid

Syd
01-20-2010, 04:59 PM
Hey im Syd and I am 13 well about your age hehe dont be scared there are tons of people that are going through the same thing including me :) Oh and hey you are just like for the pain thing I have a thread called cant stand the pain anymore but okay what do you do for the pain right now and is that helping but hey my tip that you should get a heating pad for 45 min or a cold ice pad Oh hey what surgery are you getting ?p.s Im scared to ! and also wishing you luck and the best of wishes
Hey and tell me how your appontment goes too I bet its going to go great ! and if you have and questions leave me a message on my page if you want :) and remember your not alone :)

KateScoliKid
01-20-2010, 05:24 PM