Why choose surgery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why choose surgery?

At the current time I have a 65 degree scoliosis of the lower spine. There is discomfort and a little pain unless I pull muscles in my back which occurs 2-3 times a year. It is not daily but it happens now and then.

After reading about the post operative pain and the amount of time to recoperate, I find myself wondering if I shouldn't wait for a while. I think that I now notice the discomfort more since I know I have this problem.

What caused you to decide the time was right to go through this type of surgery? Was it the pain of day to day life? Was it other effects caused by the scoliosis? Something else?

I'm still trying to get this figured out.

Thanks for your guicance!

Hi neilswee...

In my case, it was definitely the pain and loss of function. Having gone through it, I would personally recommend that you wait until you're certain it's the right thing.

I can only guess how difficult it is to decide whether to have surgery when the symptoms aren't very severe. Good luck with your decision!

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment