back to school

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• back to school

Well sad as I am, school begins tomorrow and the following week my practicum begins as well. I am a doctoral student at the grand age of 58. I really hope I have the strength and endurance for this. My school is an hour from my house and my practicum is an hour from my house the other direction. It would be better if my knees didn't hurt so much all the time, and that's after having the series of shots they do for knees. So it's 6 months from the surgeries and back to school. My class tomorrow is 7:20pm - 10pm and then an hour drive home.

Wish me luck kids!!
    avis
    1987 Lumbar Laminectomy (forget which levels)
    2005 A/P fusion, L2 - L5, 2/2005
    2009 2 Posterior fusions, T6 - Pelvis, 2/10 & 2/18,
    Dr. Frank Rand, NEBH

Hi Avis! (I read your 2nd post first and thought that was your post, then realized there was one before that, so that is why my response seems a bit strange...and why I added on/edited) Everyone is so different! I had PT at 6 months post op and again at 11 months post-op, for about 6-8 weeks, 2-3 times per week. I definitely got a lot out of my time there and continued with it at home until I started back to work and couldn't fit it into my schedule and also didn't have enough energy for it anymore. It depends on what your therapist has you do, of course. But mine was great and through the PT, I was able to gain back a lot of strength I had lost because of the surgery. Since you've been snorkeling and all, maybe that hasn't changed that much for you. Best wishes as you figure it all out.

I think it's great you are working on your doctorate. I'll be thinking of you as you head out today... but my advice is to try to take everything else as easy as you can and see how it all goes. Be like the "little engine that could"-- you can do it!
    Last edited by Susie*Bee; 08-24-2009, 05:21 AM.
    71 and plugging along... but having some problems