PDA

View Full Version : $$$ for surgery

pilar
08-04-2009, 01:15 PM
well my friends,
at this point I don't know if I will get the procedures done. My year max for my insurance is 50,000 dollars, and it will not cover all the surgery expenses. My Dr. is afraid that he will not get paid and his assistant call me today saying that he will do it if I pay out of pocket 18,000 dollars for his service. I understand this is a huge compromise he is making, but I am a student and I have a minimum pay part-time job, so I don't have that kind of money, not even 10% of that... I get my insurance through school, so I should have know better...
I don;t know what to do. I guess there is nothing I can do at this point. If any of one know about medical grants or something like that, please any information will be appreciated.
Pilar:(

Qikdraw
08-04-2009, 01:34 PM
I donno what to tell ya. If you're in Los Angeles like your location says, well Arnie just line item cut a LOT of healthcare spending for people in need. I do not know about any federal stuff either.

I don't know if you are religious or not, but you could go to some churches in your area and see if they can spread the word and get you some help. When I was operated on my family had to pay about $60,000 (roughly) and churches from all over donated to help out. It was amazing how far donations were coming from, it was a real blessing.

So you might try that avenue, even if you're not overly religious a church may know of some agencies that may help out too.

leahdragonfly
08-04-2009, 02:58 PM
Hi Pilar,

I am so sorry to hear your news. The $50,000/year limit would preclude many major surgeries. I am wondering if there is a way to appeal to the company, to get a necessary surgery authorized. I can't imagine the insurance company could justify denying a surgery such as this. Heart surgery of any kind would be well over $50,000--so do they just get to tell all their pt's "oh,sorry"???