Random Questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Random Questions

I have been reading through the old posts on this forum and I have learned a lot! The first thing I learned early on was what a great group of people you all are. You are all so warm, caring and compassionate. I am so thrilled and grateful to have found you!

My apologies if this is a “dumb” question, but in my reading I have come across a term, more than once, that really confuses me. I think it's used mostly by people describing their "post-op" experiences. Can someone explain to me what the term “break-through pain” means? Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Does it last, does it come and go? I am so confused?

Also, when it comes to suffering from pain (before surgery), what types of pain do most of you feel? I have a 53* lumbar curve and all of my pain is from my waist down. I suffer with back pain and leg pain. Initially the leg pain was just in one leg and that foot is now almost totally numb. Now the other leg is giving me problems with numbness and tingling from the knee up. I can’t stand or walk for more than 5 minutes at a time with the pain becoming increasingly unbearable. It is also becoming more difficult to sit and/or lay down comfortably.

Any advice, ideas, or explanations?
    ValleyGirl - age 54

Diagnosed @ age 11
    Milwaukee brace 1967-1971 -- hated it!
    Never rechecked since 1971 until "tweaked" something in lower back in July 2008.
    Now curve is T38*, L53*
    Surgery scheduled for 9/8/09

Fused T10 - S1 on 9/8/09

Hey,

I assume break-through pain is pain that isn't ameliorated by meds. Either the meds weren't strong enough or the correct type or they weren't taken on time.

I lived in fer of missing a dose when my daughter come home from the hospital. It is important to stay on top and ahead of the pain.

Good luck.
    Sharon, mother of identical twin girls with scoliosis

No island of sanity.