Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• work after surgery question

Hi everyone,

I have a question for those of you who have been through surgery. I am finishing my master's degree in mid-August, and having my surgery on September 23rd. I wanted to wait until I was finished with grad school before I dealt with the scoliosis issues since I have been a full-time student (I would lose my grad assistantship if I took off during the middle of my program). When do you think I could reasonably start job-hunting/interviewing/working? Is mid-November reasonable to expect to be able to go to interviews and appear normal? :-) I know everyone's recovery is different, but I am having a hard time with not being able to plan out my job searching strategy yet. Thoughts?

--Steph
    dx age 13 with thoracolumbar scoliosis, wore Charleston brace for 4 years
    31yo, main curve has progressed to 52*, up from 34* @ skeletal maturity
    anterior surgery T9 - L3 scheduled for 09/23/09
    --Steph

Anterior surgery 9/23/09
    Fused T10 - L3

working

hi steph
    what kind of work will you be looking for?

jess

Comment

Originally posted by sed78 View Post
      Hi everyone,

I have a question for those of you who have been through surgery. I am finishing my master's degree in mid-August, and having my surgery on September 23rd. I wanted to wait until I was finished with grad school before I dealt with the scoliosis issues since I have been a full-time student (I would lose my grad assistantship if I took off during the middle of my program). When do you think I could reasonably start job-hunting/interviewing/working? Is mid-November reasonable to expect to be able to go to interviews and appear normal? :-) I know everyone's recovery is different, but I am having a hard time with not being able to plan out my job searching strategy yet. Thoughts?

--Steph