Running

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Running

I have a question for the others that are post op.
    I am at 13 Months!!!! yay!!! and I want to start training for a marathon. I have no support from my dh...actually he makes me want to hide the fact I am doing this...but I want to do something I have never done before since I've always had scoliosis...this marathon will be Oct. 3 and is a week after my 29th birthday...but I want to do the 5K portion...

Does anyone think this is possible for me to train for in 16 weeks? I have never ran...but I have been walking like crazy since the surgery and can walk over a mile (actually a good 3 miles I can do now) and that was a HUGE accomplishment when that happened at 9 months post op PAIN FREE

So can I do this?
    Am I NUTS?
    Should I hit my husband over the head for laughing at me and telling me I'm crazy?
    Ummm where do I start? HAHAHAHA
    Last edited by mmw; 06-15-2009, 05:31 PM.
    My One Crooked Momma blog
    Fused T1-L1 May 21st 2008
    From 51* to STRAIGHT! Thanks Dr. Shelokov @ Baylor

I admire you for even wanting to do it!!! If you think you can, why not. The training will be good exercise. I myself am 13 months out also but I am unable to run at all!
    I get soaked in the rain because I can't even jog to my car because my whole body feels like its falling apart when I try. So GO FOR IT.
    May 2008 Fusion T4 - S1, Pre-op Curves T45, L70 (age 48). Unsuccessful surgery.

March 18, 2010 (age 50). Revision with L3 Osteotomy, Replacement of hardware T11 - S1 , addition of bilateral pelvic fixation. Correction of sagittal imbalance and kyphosis.

January 24, 2012 (age 52) Revision to repair pseudoarthrosis and 2 broken rods at L3/L4.

Comment

You know your body best

I started playing basketball and running track 6 months after my surgery wearing my brace. It was a bit soon, but I jumped hurdles at 7 months and I was fine. You can tell what your body can handle.