Safe yoga for long fusion

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Safe yoga for long fusion

I've found a yoga instructor for my daughter who's willing to give private lessons. I don't know anything about it and I'm looking for some advice as to what should be avoided. She'd been having a lot of discomfort in her upper back but she's finally feeling good so I'm hesitant to start something now that might aggravate her back again. Her fusion is T4-L4.

Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

I have a long fusion and I have taken yoga successfully for several years now. I can't do ALL of the stretches because of my lack of upper back flexibility but I just have to know my limits and modify if necessary. I will say I am very gentle doing anything that requires me to turn or stretch my neck because I've had a herniated disk in my neck related to my scoliosis.

Since I started practicing yoga, I have become SO much more aware of the imbalances in my body and more conscious of how I stand, sit, walk, etc. I've gone online and researched "yoga for scoliosis" and found some techniques for helping even out my imbalances AND I acting "grew" a half inch in height after I started practicing.

So I would say go for it, just make sure the instructor knows your limits and be gentle.

Comment

Hi Sherie

I have heard that Iyengar yoga is best for scoliosis.
      I don't know much about yoga but you could ask someone about this.
      Hope this helps a little.
      Regards
      Donna.
      Mother to 14 year old daughter, Gabrielle (Gabby).
      Discovered her scoliosis on her 14th Birthday in February 2009. Due to be operated on for curves of 57 and 54 degrees (S Curve) in December 2009 with Dr. Askin in Brisbane.

Comment

Originally posted by Sherie View Post