Clear Institute vs. Schroth Method

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clear Institute vs. Schroth Method

Hi Everyone, I'm new to this site, and I wanted to ask a question. Has anyone tried the Clear Institute methods or Schroth therapy (or both) for their scoliosis? After doing lots of research, these seem like the two main alternative treatments for scoliosis (aside from yoga, pilates, massage, etc.?). Just looking for feedback. I haven't tried either, but I'd like to try something new for my scoliosis (I have a 35 degree thoracolumbar curve; last xray was about a year and a half ago), and although I stretch, get massages, do PT, etc. I still feel like my back and shoulder pain are increasing over time. I'd be nervous about putting a good deal of money into something if it's not going to work at all. Let me know what you think, and also, let me know what else you have tried that has worked for you. Thanks!

Don't you think if any alternative treatment was effective we would know it by now?

I mean Schroth has been around for at least 90 years. If they were successful, don't you think the world would know it by now? Wouldn't Weiss have the Nobel in medicine already? Why do you suppose folks still need fusion surgery if these woo-woo techniques worked?

Don't mind me.
    Last edited by Pooka1; 03-30-2009, 12:20 PM.
    Sharon, mother of identical twin girls with scoliosis

No island of sanity.

Question: What do you call alternative medicine that works?
    Answer: Medicine

"We are all African."

Comment

From what I've read and heard, the Schroth method has some credibility as a pain-relieving method for pre-surgical-level (-45*) curves. The Clear Institute, not so much.
      Chris
      A/P fusion on June 19, 2007 at age 52; T10-L5
      Pre-op thoracolumbar curve: 70 degrees
      Post-op curve: 12 degrees
      Dr. Boachie-adjei, HSS, New York

Comment

Originally posted by Singer View Post