X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new here- considering surgery

hello,
    im new here...

i am 35 yrs old. i was diagnosed with scoliosis at 14 yrs old after a high school wrestling injury. at that time i had a 32 degree thoratic, and 28 degree lumbar curve. recently my pain has been getting worse and worse. i am a chef and i am on my feet 12+ hrs a day bending, twisting, reaching, and lifting... the last 2 years it has been a real challenge to work. i take 800mg ibuprofen every 6hrs (on work days) and vicodin too when its bad. now i dont sleep well either. these dont do much for me but better than nothing... pt helps a little...

so, i went back to the doc and got new xrays. im now 62 thoratic, 45 lumbar, and he says i have another 45 degree curve up higher above the thoratic one (someone please tell me the correct term for this area! )

now i went to a scoliosis surgeon. he is recommending surgery. he says that it will begin to impact my breathing as the curve worsens... not sure how many or which vertebrae exactly he plans to fuse...

i have so many questions i dont know where to begin! some at the top of my head would be; how was the pain from the surgery in the first days and weeks? did the pain meds cover most of it up? how long till i can expect to stand up and go to the bathroom etc? how long till you can eat? take a shower? go home from the hospital? sorry, i have so many questions i dont know where to stop!

thank you,
    daniel

I am waiting for surgery like you, but I hope yours goes very well.
    45L/40T
    Surgery 25/1/2010
    Australia

Knowthyself

Scoliosis Corrected 25/1/2010 by Dr Angus Gray, Prince of Wales Private Hospital, Sydney. Fused T3-L4.

Comment

Daniel,

I've been told by several surgeons that I needed surgery and by several that I shouldn't have it yet. Ultimately, I'm the one in charge of my own body and will make up my own mind. Get all the facts and go from there. Definitely get another opinion or two.