Dr Boachie Consultation

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dr Boachie Consultation

I am excited to have gotten an appointment with Dr. Boachie on April 2nd!!
    I am 37 and have progressive kyphoscoliosis with a double major curve. I had surgery in Dec 08 to release a tethered spinal cord but have NOT had any spinal surgery before (wore a brace for 5 years as a teenager). I am in the best shape of my life thanks to rigorous physical therapy and a daily exercise regimen before and after my last surgery. I have four kids (the youngest is 5) and I have been researching and getting advice from surgeons for over a year now. A few questions:

1 If I do plan on having the surgery in New York, how long will I likely be there? I am an OR nurse (not currently working) so I know that nothing in surgery is for certain but a rough estimate would help.

2. How many follow-up appointments are there likely to be and how are they spaced out?

3. Anyone else who has had Dr B as a surgeon --any advice?

THANK YOU!
    Jen Parker
    jennifer@wherever.org

Dr. B

Good luck with your surgery! I don't have Dr. B but a lot on this site have and I am sure you will hear from them soon! I will be 37 on March 25 with three boys 15, 9, and 1. I will have lots of help from family and husband through recovery for our little guy! Sounds as though you are doing a good job getting yourself prepared for surgery. I have been doing the same. Today, however, has not been a good day, but I am sure tomorrow will be better! Take care and good luck getting the answers that you need.
    Susan

Diagnosed at 10, Boston brace from 11-13 yrs old.
    50* Lumbar w/ 5 centimeter shift to the left and slight rib hump...
    Surgery Date: April 15 and April 22, 2009
    X-LIF approach for disc repair L5,L4,L3,L2
    Posterior Approach for fusions L5-T5
    Dr. Fox @ Naval Medical Center Portsmouth
    Nice and straight now!!!!!

Comment

Dr. Boachie

Jennifer,
      I sent you an e-mail.