personal stuff

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• personal stuff

Hello! This is my first time being on a forum, so am feeling a bit awkward. My almost-11 y.o. daughter started wearing a Boston Brace about 3 weeks ago and there are some daily living issues we're running into. I told her I'd check out this site and see what others say. I've searched the forums and haven't found my questions answered.
    Our main issue is using the bathroom while wearing the brace. She needs to unbuckle all 3 straps in order to get her underpants down! Then I need to strap them back up. What will she do when I'm not with her? She's tried wearing the underpants over the brace but then then slide off when she bends over! Also, all the new jeans she just got no longer fit over the brace. Has anyone tried cutting tops, using elastic in waist or any such thing? She's found it's easier just not to wear a bra at all, because the pressure on seams irritates her - and just wears the special "body sock" the orthotics guy gave her. It's not a big deal right now, but what about when she's older?
    Supposedly she's supposed to get to a point where she can put the brace on all by herself. Right now she can get it off by herself - and on, but not straight and buckled. I can't quite image this. All in all, she's got a wonderful attitude and we're gearing towards wearing it 23 hrs/day. (She's up to 7) I'm really proud of her.
    Thanks for any advice you can give.
    Donna
    Mom to 2 biological kids, grown & Married and 2 adopted kids, 6 & 11

Donnalee...

First of all, please congratulate your daughter on doing such a wonderful job of wearing her brace! We all know it isn't the easiest thing to do.