Terrified: Scheduled for Spinal Fusion in April with Dr Boachi at HSS

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Terrified: Scheduled for Spinal Fusion in April with Dr Boachi at HSS

I am a 55 year old woman who has been in significant pain for over 2 years now. I was never clearly diagnosed with scoliosis until 2002. I had an incident 2 years ago and since then I have seen many many doctors from local orthopedic surgeons to the Rothman Institute in Philadelphia who eventually sent me to Dr. Boachi. I have an S curve with a 49 degree curve at top and 41 degree at bottom. Everyone says I hide my curve well.

I am scheduled for Spinal Fusion T4 - S1 surgery with Dr Boachi at Hospital for Special Surgery NYC in April

I have heard nothing but wonderful things about HSS and Dr. Boachi but I am terrified and NotReadyYet because I don't know what to expect and could use some advise and information.

1. Do I need to be concerned about insurance coverage? Do I rely on the doctors office or contact my insurance myself?
    2. What should I do now to prepare? During the last 2 years I have done little exercise and have gained weight.
    3. What about blood donations? Do I have to do that now for April? How much and how often?
    4. How much pain is it after the surgery?
    5. What can I expect to be like once I get home? Do I need a bed downstairs? Do I need constant care or can I be alone?
    6. Will I really be taller?
    7. What else should I be asking?

I would love to hear about people's experience and will begin to search this site.

Thanks to all in advance.

Hi Not Yet,

I answered your questions in Peachy's thread. I'll try to move them here.

Milwalkee Brace 1976 - 79
    Told by Dr. my curve would never progress

Surgery 10/15/08 in NYC by Dr. Michael Neuwirth
    Pre-Surgury Thorasic: 66 degrees
    Pre-Surgery Lumbar: 66 degrees

Post-Surgery Thorasic: 34 degrees
    Post-Surgery Lumbar: 22 degrees

Comment

Hi NotReadyYet!