Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sports and other activities after the surgery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sports and other activities after the surgery?

I am a 60 year old woman with adult scoliosis. I have a double-curve of 78 degrees. (I have lost more than 4 inches of my height) I have been involved in various sports all of these years without difficulty, including horseback riding, long-distance swimming, downhill skiing, cycling, roller-blading and tennis. I have never had any surgery, but now am experiencing a loss of function in my right leg, that is beginning to severely hamper my lifestyle. I can still walk short distances, but it is beginning to get more and more difficult.

I have already consulted several experts and am familiar with the risks involved in the surgery. Presently I was told that I should proceed with the more minor disc surgery to deal with the leg pain and that I should postpone the more serious scoliosis surgery as a last resort. I am still ambivalent about proceeding with the major surgery, given the risks involved.

I would like to know if there are other high-functioning individuals in my age group who have had the major scoliosis surgery and have been able to resume different sports afterward. I would also appreciate hearing your thoughts and experiences following the surgery.

Dear Maureen and welcome to the Forum,