Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

how difficult was your stay at home after surgery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how difficult was your stay at home after surgery?

Share your stories with me. I am to be fused C7 to L1. I have a 50 degrees kyphosis. Do I need someone here? What was the most difficult for you?

Hi....

Everyone is different, so it's really hard to know in advance. I've known people who have had relatively easy surgeries, who came home and felt they needed help for months. I've also known people who have had huge surgeries, and who went home right after being released, and who didn't need help.

If you have the option, having a friend or relative stay with you for 2-3 weeks after your release would almost always be a helpful thing.

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

I had my parents here for 8 weeks after the surgery. It was a nice to have especially since I have 3 kids and I wasn't driving yet. I'd say having them here was absolutely necessary for me for about 1 month. In the very beginning it was like I was an infant. All I did was SLEEP, SLEEP, SLEEP, eat a little and go to the bathroom. LOL It was probably due to all the meds.

Milwalkee Brace 1976 - 79
      Told by Dr. my curve would never progress

Surgery 10/15/08 in NYC by Dr. Michael Neuwirth
      Pre-Surgury Thorasic: 66 degrees
      Pre-Surgery Lumbar: 66 degrees

Post-Surgery Thorasic: 34 degrees
      Post-Surgery Lumbar: 22 degrees

Comment