PDA

View Full Version : limitations a year after surgery?

caliber
12-28-2008, 07:10 PM
What limitations do you have a year after surgery? Never to lift more than 15 pounds again? How does one move, go to the grocery store? Please share your no limitations or limitations with me as I try to make a difficult decision of surgery or no surgery. Tell me what has happened to you within the year or after the year you had surgery. I am to be fused C7 to L1 . I have a 50 degrees kyphosis.

LindaRacine
12-28-2008, 09:36 PM
I have a page on my website that you might find helpful:

http://www.scoliosislinks.com/PostSurgActivities.htm

JenniferG
12-29-2008, 12:41 AM
A very helpful list!

titaniumed
12-29-2008, 02:21 AM
Linda

I have not seen this chart. Wow, it explains some things.Of course I have noticed the column for adults fused to the sacrum which includes me.

Right off the bat, Sitting for me was a tough thing after surgery, I mean like 3 minutes max. I didn't have to ask my surgeon,my body would tell me what I could do. It was about 2 weeks before I could sit more than 10 minutes. 4 weeks for 20 minutes. 8weeks for 30 minutes.

Loading the dishwasher they have 6 months indicated. I remember that being an issue that forced me to squat immediately.

Running. Never. Not that I go and run everywhere! LOL I can run alright if I have to. 300 feet max sprint.

Skiing and Motorcycling. I suspected and already knew that a crash was out of the question. I will ask why those long screws were driven into my pelvis at my 1 yr check coming up here next month. Due to my history with extreme sports, I'm wondering if that decision was based on an assumption that I might go and try something wild again? I look at everyone's x-rays and I haven't seen any long pelvic screws like mine. Have you or anyone ever seen screws like that?
Am I the only one?