limitations a year after surgery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• limitations a year after surgery?

What limitations do you have a year after surgery? Never to lift more than 15 pounds again? How does one move, go to the grocery store? Please share your no limitations or limitations with me as I try to make a difficult decision of surgery or no surgery. Tell me what has happened to you within the year or after the year you had surgery. I am to be fused C7 to L1 . I have a 50 degrees kyphosis.

I have a page on my website that you might find helpful:

http://www.scoliosislinks.com/PostSurgActivities.htm
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

A very helpful list!
      Surgery March 3, 2009 at almost 58, now 63.
      Dr. Askin, Brisbane, Australia
      T4-Pelvis, Posterior only
      Osteotomies and Laminectomies
      Was 68 degrees, now 22 and pain free

Comment

Linda

I have not seen this chart. Wow, it explains some things.Of course I have noticed the column for adults fused to the sacrum which includes me.

Right off the bat, Sitting for me was a tough thing after surgery, I mean like 3 minutes max. I didn't have to ask my surgeon,my body would tell me what I could do. It was about 2 weeks before I could sit more than 10 minutes. 4 weeks for 20 minutes. 8weeks for 30 minutes.

Loading the dishwasher they have 6 months indicated. I remember that being an issue that forced me to squat immediately.

Running. Never. Not that I go and run everywhere! LOL I can run alright if I have to. 300 feet max sprint.