New to the forum - not new to scoliosis

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the forum - not new to scoliosis

Hi! Thank you all for being here – so glad to have found you! I’ve been reading your posts here for a couple of months and have found them to be so helpful! (and so compelling too ) Thanks all of you for your generosity in sharing your stories and opinions, your expertise and positive outlooks on life. I’ve found the right place!

My background: first diagnosed in 1973 at age 12 by family physician. ‘Watch and see’ for 3 months as thoracic curve progressed to 43*. Dr. Harry Kroll of Topeka, Kansas was my orthopedist at the time and he recommended surgery but my parents did not feel comfortable with that option for me so I was fitted for a Milwaukee brace which I wore 23 ½ hours a day for 4 years then gradually increased hours out of brace to about 8 by the time I graduated from H.S. Had a hard time adjusting to sleeping without it so took it to college for the first semester. Curve diminished to 33* – 36* while in brace (but within a few years curve back to 43*.) Dismissed from Orthopedic care fall of 1979.
    Over past 25 years have received chiropractic care at various times and it has kept me going. I thought I was doing enough to take care of myself and thought my curve would just stay the same. I have always been active and have not let my scoliosis be much of an issue as far as how I have lived my life and what I can and cannot do….until recently that is.