Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 6 y/o w/"thoracic curve"

Hi,
    I'm so glad I found this site. I've been reading and learning so much since my DD (Emma's) appt on Weds. I'll give you a little background:

Emma (who is 6) has been having back pain for appx 6-8 weeks. I took her to an Urgent Care early August for the pain and she was dx'd w/a muscle strain. She has continued to have pain (takes Motrin daily), so I took her to her ped. on Weds. They did a thorough exam and reassured me that it was probably just a strain, but wanted to do an X-ray. The doc called immediately w/the results and said we needed to see a pediaric orthopedic surgeon at Children's Hosp in Columbus, OH. I still haven't heard from Children's and am upset by this.

I tried to call the ortho office on Thurs, but was told I have to wait for them to contact me. Tonight at work (I'm a nurse), I ran into one of the pediatricians. She thought maybe she could expedite the process and spoke to the ortho on call at Childen's w/o any luck.

I've read great things hear about the Shriner's Hospitals and plan on trying to contact them Monday am. I'm trying not to be too impatient. But I want her to be seen and have an MRI ASAP.

Her X-ray report said she has 19 degrees of roto-scoliosis concave to the right focused at the mid body of L1.

Thanks for listening. And a special thanks to Maria for answering my e-mail when I wasn't able to post yet.

Sally
    Last edited by cakebaker; 09-19-2008, 01:20 PM. Reason: spelling error

Hi Sally

Welcome to the site and I'm glad you found us. I understand your frustration about waiting for appt's! My daughter was diagnosed at age 6 earlier this year, and her pediatrician was willing to order an MRI for her. We got this done right away and had the results in hand when we (finally) saw the pediatric orthopedist 2 months later.