Here I go with my first stupid question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Here I go with my first stupid question

what does it mean when you say 'instrumentation' vs. 'non-instrumentation'? Does it have something to do with using rods?

See I told you I'm very new to this stuff and have no clue.

Thanks,
    Debbe

Milwalkee Brace 1976 - 79
    Told by Dr. my curve would never progress

Surgery 10/15/08 in NYC by Dr. Michael Neuwirth
    Pre-Surgury Thorasic: 66 degrees
    Pre-Surgery Lumbar: 66 degrees

Post-Surgery Thorasic: 34 degrees
    Post-Surgery Lumbar: 22 degrees

I am pretty sure that non-instrumentation means no rods or screws are used and instrumentation is with rod (s) and screws.

Sue

Comment

Originally posted by suzyjay
      I am pretty sure that non-instrumentation means no rods or screws are used and instrumentation is with rod (s) and screws.

Sue
      Ok, but I don't get it? How can they straighten you without any of this stuff?

Comment

Debbe, not sure in what context you are asking the question, but I think instrumentation is with rods, screws, or some type of "hardware." Non-instrumentation means more non invasive procedures such as physical therapy, bracing, trigger injections, etc...again, not sure what context you are asking question, but this might give some furhter insight.

LJ

Comment

Also, if you're reading about someone's fusion surgery from a long time ago, they straightened you and then you were in a body cast, on your back, for a year, to "hold" it in place... it didn't work so well I think. Some of those people will say "spinal fusion with no instrumentation"...
          71 and plugging along... but having some problems
          2007 52° w/ severe lumbar stenosis & L2L3 lateral listhesis (side shift)
          5/4/07 posterior fusion T2-L4 w/ laminectomies and osteotomies @L2L3, L3L4
          Dr. Kim Hammerberg, Rush Univ. Medical Center in Chicago

Corrected to 15°