Countdown to Surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Countdown to Surgery

Hello Everyone, I am from Australia and after months of visiting a number of surgeons I have finaly decided that surgery is the only way to go . I have planned it for October 14 2004, I have a 51 degree curve and need a T8 to L3/4 fusion (no long compared to some of you). I am 34 years of age and have a WONDERFUL husband and 2 little children (4 and 2 years of age). I am going to visit my surgeon again on the 24th July to ask loads more questions in which I have forgotten to ask at other times. There is one thing I need to know (as I am very new to all the terminology and EVERYTHIGN basically).... I have a hump on my back (ribs) cause my spine is not only curved but twists. Is this normal with all scoliosis patients? The doc said he will try and get the bone graft from the rib cage and do something about the hump. Also, I am an Event Manager.. is planning to go back to work in late January way to soon or is it acheivable?

Thanks for all your stories on the forum - its great to know I have finally come to a place where I can chat about it!

xx Kylie-Ann
    Kylie-Ann
    Australia

Surgery 14th October 2004
    T7- L4
    Thoracoplasty

Hi Kylie-Ann....

Congratulations on making the decision to have surgery. Since I went through it myself 13 years ago, I know how difficult it can be.

To answer your question, almost everyone with a significant thoracic curve has a rib hump. I'm not certain, but it sounds like your surgeon might be wanting to perform a thoracoplasty. You can read about the procedure here:

http://www.curvedspine.com/sample2.htm

While most of the people I know who have had thoracoplasties tell me that they're pretty painful, they all are delighted with the cosmetic results.