Anyone from Atlanta

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone from Atlanta

Hello, anyone out there heard of Emory Spine and Orhthopedic Cente-Dr. William Horton? My daughter is scheduled for surgery March 13 at Emory University. She has a top curve of 52 and low curve of 48. How common is two curves, is sugery more difficult? She plans to go to hairdresser school in the fall, will she able to stand for long periods of time afterwards? Any help is appreciated, even though I am a nurse, I am very anxious!

Hi Donna,

If you click on the Search tab on top and type in Dr. William Horton’s name in the search box, you will find several instances where his name appears, all with positive comments. Double curves are quite common, and depending on your daughter’s age and length of her fusion, a career that entails standing for long periods of time may or may not be problematic. She should discuss that with her surgeon. I can only tell you about a former teacher I spoke to who decided to have her surgery when she retired at age 55 because she required a long fusion and said that she would never have been able to return to her teaching job that did require a lot of standing, but then she was in her 50s.

Best wishes to your daughter.

Chris

Comment

Donna-- This may not be very helpful, but I would be just as concerned with the bending over aspect of being a hairdresser... so it's a combination of standing and bending over. I know that it's extremely hard to dampen a young girl's dreams of what she wants to be, though, so check with your scoli doc. It may depend a lot on where and how long the fusion is. She's got a lot going for her in that she is young. Good luck!
      71 and plugging along... but having some problems
      2007 52° w/ severe lumbar stenosis & L2L3 lateral listhesis (side shift)
      5/4/07 posterior fusion T2-L4 w/ laminectomies and osteotomies @L2L3, L3L4
      Dr. Kim Hammerberg, Rush Univ. Medical Center in Chicago

Corrected to 15°