College Students??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• College Students??

I was just wanting to see how many others on here are in college... I am a junior in my undergraduate and am having surgery this coming June 30th. Is there anyone out there that has had a similar experience where you go back to school in the fall? I will only be 7 weeks post op at that point, and am planning on being a full time (barely, 13 hours) student so that I can continue on my course to graduate on time. I don't think I will have any long 5 hour labs like I do now, but am I going to be miserable sitting through classes? I don't really think that I even have the option of being part-time because I will be dropped from my medical insurance, which would be the last thing I need... anyone else out there with this dillemma/ experience? How did you manage to deal with school and healing at the same time? Did you do physical therepy at school too? Thanks for any responses...

Abbie
    aBbiE
    22 yr old F,KU college student
    Kyphoscoliosis...
    Scoliosis (25T, 23L) diagnosed @ 14 yrs old; curves June 08 were 45T, 32L with 18 degree rotation
    Kyphosis of 65 degrees...
    I am missing a lumbar vertebrae

Surgery 6/30/2008 with Dr. Lawrence Lenke
    Fused T2-L2

before/after pics
    all smiles!

Is it possible to have your surgery done earlier? I'm also a junior in undergrad but I'm a bit older than you. I'm planning on having my surgery a week or so after finals are over in May. My doctor said yesterday that 3 months is usually a good estimate as to when a person is able to go back to school or work. He said he had 1 guy that went back to work at 6 weeks, but he said that was rare, but since you are younger, that would be more likely. That's good that you won't have labs. I'll have 2 4 hour labs in the fall. I hope you are able to go back!
    Chemist, 30

1998- 18 degrees
    2003- 33 degrees
    2005- 37 degrees
    2006- 44 degrees
    May 2007- 47 degrees