No announcement yet.

Hi y'all! I'm new and getting surgery!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi y'all! I'm new and getting surgery!

Hey everyone!! I'm Nicole and was diagnosed with scoliosis a few months ago. I have a single thoracolumbar curve of fifty degrees and will be getting surgery sometime soon. I have a pre-surgical consult with my doctor next week and will find out the details then. But anyway, I just wanted to hear feedback from anyone who's had spinal fusion surgery done and what the experience was like for them. I've done plenty of research but I think it'd be better to hear from the perspective of a person who's actually been through it rather than from just a professional one. To be quite honest, I'm terrified!! I have a few questions if y'all don't mind answering.
    1. In your opinion, do you think that surgery is beneficial and well worth it in the long run? Any regrets?
    2. Over time, do you eventually gain back flexibility? I'm a very dedicated dancer (if you didn't already guess, lol) and worried that having the surgery will seriously impact my dancing. And this may be a stupid question, but can you arch your back with the rods in it?
    3. How long did it take before you could handle solid foods again? And sorry if this is personal, but did you lose a lot of weight from having the surgery?
    4. Generally, how bad was the pain? I have, like, a zero-tolerance for pain and have never so much as broken a bone, so yeah...
    Thank y'all so much! I'll prob. think of more questions but I really, really appreciate it!
    Last edited by danceISlife; 01-23-2008, 07:27 PM.
    Nicole//18 years old, college sophomore//50 degree thoracolumbar curve//Posterior Spinal Fusion in 2008, Fused T5 to L3

Hey guys! My name is Lauren and I'm also new to the forum-- I will be having my (long-awaited!) fusion March 4.
    I'm 17 and have a lot of the same questions as DANCER.