Allow me to vent for a moment..

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Allow me to vent for a moment..

I had been doing pretty well with my spirits until this weekend, when I found out about a couple of musical parties and get-togethers that I had not been invited to (I'm a professional singer). I realize this sounds a bit childish and small, and I am sure there was no malice involved. I know people assume I'm not going out at night yet (and I'm basically not), and they know I can't sing yet, but I was amazed at how much this hurt. I would have made every effort to go. Well, musical folks tend to be a self-centered, kind of flaky lot, and so I am not taking it personally. I usually give people the benefit of the doubt, and assume that everyone is doing the best they can in life. But still.

One of the hardest things about this surgery and recovery is that it is so long and debilitating, you tend to drop off the radar screen socially -- and I wasn't prepared for that. My true friends have stuck by my side, but I've been amazed that others have unexpectedly backed away. At least I've learned to be very sensitive to anyone in my circle who ever has to go through something similar!

Thanks for slogging through this....had to get it off my chest.
    Chris
    A/P fusion on June 19, 2007 at age 52; T10-L5
    Pre-op thoracolumbar curve: 70 degrees
    Post-op curve: 12 degrees
    Dr. Boachie-adjei, HSS, New York