how soon for work and driving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• how soon for work and driving

my doctor said I could go back to work on light duty 4-6 wks postop. Has anyone gone back to work this soon and if so how did it go. I'm a nurse and was just wandering what to expect. I was considering having my surgery in January.How long will it be before I can drive?

That is going to be pretty quick to go back to work. You are on the young side and will recover soon but that might be pushing it. I drove at 5 weeks which surprised almost everyone. I went to the grocery store and short errands and events at 5-6 weeks. You will get tired VERY easy at first. Many can't sit at their computers to post for long at that time interval. You might need to push back the idea of going back that soon just a few weeks farther out. This of coarse depends on what you plan on doing when you do go back to work and if you will start with only a few hours a day. You will need to lay down to rest during your break too. I thought I would be superwoman and not need as long to recover as most and I was correct, I got better very quickly. But, I have learned you need to take it easy in the beginning and it is a slow and frustrating recovery. You want to do more because you start to feel so much better but your recovery is slow and you can't. Many of us have overdone it because we feel so good and paid the price for it the next day!

49* lumbar corrected to 8* 2/22/06 at age 43
    Fused T10 to L4

Comment

I'm curious what light duty for a nurse would be? Also, do you drive in heavy traffic/on freeways?

I ask those questions because I was back at work part-time in the first month after surgery, but I was able to sit or stand at my leisure, and able to go lay down every two hours. That was all very necessary the first several months, for me. My back would get achy in one position, and I also got tired easily.