No announcement yet.

New to forum and Surgery is on Oct 22!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to forum and Surgery is on Oct 22!!

Hello everyone. I can't believe I didn't find this forum years ago! It's such a relief! I am 34 years old, diagnosed at 12, wore a brace for a year, then used the ScoliTron for 3 months and stopped treatment. I wanted to live a normal teenage life! But I've been monitoring the progression of my curves since 2000 when i started to have back pain - it was getting worse every year - expecially when the cold weather started to come around.

A couple years ago, i found out a co-worker was researching doctors because he too had scoliosis and needed surgery. He interviewed doctors in Utah, Vegas, and SoCal and decided with Dr. McNulty, here in Vegas. He came highly recommended through a personal referral to me and I didn't feel comfortable with my exisiting doctor anyway because he just kept telling me to exercise, take motrin, and come back in 6 months... so i made my appointment with McNulty. Everything he said to me made sense! Of course i need surgery! I should have had it a long time ago! My co-worker had a successful surgery and was on his Harley after 5 or 6 months! And now, he's studying Jiu-Jitsu!!

Anyways - my surgery is scheduled for Oct 22nd. I'm nervous, excited and all that but the thing I'm worried about the most is - depending on others and my kids. I have two growing kids whom do not understand how things are going to change after this surgery. Heck - I don't even know myself! My oldest boy is 11 and the youngest is only 6. Oh and we live in a 2-story home. My husband is great and he'll do fine but he's only taking 1 week off of work? Should he look into taking more time off? FMLA?

Out of all the threads I've read - i can't seem to figure out if anyone has kids?

Jane
    T2-L3 Oct. 22, 2007
    Dr. McNulty - UMC Hospital
    -----------------
    Jane

34 yrs old