Cost of brace & supplies

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cost of brace & supplies

Hi, I'm new to all of this...so please excuse me if I seem a little retarded. My 12 yr old daughter was recently diagnosed with Scoliosis (23 degree curve in her thoracic area). Her 1st consult with the Orthopedic is next week, but I imagine he'll be ordering a brace (possibly the Boston brace?). Maybe I'm jumping ahead a lil bit, but I'm a just curious about what the average cost is for this type of brace & supplies, etc. And what happens when she grows out of it? Do you have to pay all over again? I know her med. insurance covers the brace,...but the plan she has kinda sucks. I have a $750 co ins. for "orthotics" to satisfy before they'll pay anything.
    If anyone out there has info., or experience on this issue, please let me know. I will pay for whatever she needs no matter what, but I still like to prepare myself for what's to come.
    Thanks~

VegasMom:
    We paid $2,800.00 Canadian for a night brace for our daughter.
    We will be paying about $3,000.00 Canadian for a Spinecor brace in the next couple of weeks.
    Ruth
    Ruth, 50 years old (s-shaped 30 degree scoliosis) with degenerative disc disease, married to Mike. Mother to two children - Son 18 and daughter 14. Both have idiopathic scoliosis. Son (T38, L29) has not needed surgery to date. Daughter (March 08 - T62, L63).

Comment

WOW! Was that your out of pocket cost? Or did your insurance pay for a portion? Thanks for your response.

Comment

Hi VegasMom,