Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery in December

Hey All,

I went for a check up for my scoliosis last week and my doctor told me I had a 59 degree curve! (A bit scary for me since my curve was 55 in February!)

So, now my doctor told me surgery seems like the only option .I'm scheduled to have surgery in mid December because he was booked through October. As a college student, I felt it best to just sit out the Spring semester because I'm almost positive that I wouldn't be able to undergo such a busy school schedule considering my condition.

So now I have some questions?

1. Has anyone my age (19) or any college student had surgery during the school year? If so, how long did you sit out? Were you able to take any classes (night classes, online) during recovery?

2. How much correction did you receive from your surgery? I'm currently 59 degrees.

3. Is surgery my only option?!

I have more questions, but these are 3 that I'm most worried about.

Looking forward to your replies.

ONE MORE THING:

The doctor said i didn't require a MRI due to my family history of scoliosis (2 sisters).. why else would i need an MRI? what does/can it show?
    glenda

54T
    Posterior spinal Fusion--Dec. 12, 2007
    Fusion: T5-L3

10T and Loving it!!

Hi Glenda,

I can't answer your questions but I also am scheduled for surgery in December (4th) and I also had a very rapid kyphosis curve progression - 7 degrees in 9 months!

I don't think there is a good time to have surgery but if it has to be done to stop the progression, it seems to me that soon is the best possible time.

You are very young so your recovery should be relatively quick, but I would be concerned about carrying textbooks while your spine is healing - I've been told to lift no more than 5 pounds the first several months.

Good luck.

Janet