Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Autistic teen with rapidly progressive scoliosis

Hello,

I'm new to this wonderful forum. Our 14.11 y/o son MJ has autism, a severe lifelong neurodevelopmental disability which primarily affects their ability to communicate, play, make friends, and handle the environment. Over the past 9 months MJ has developed a rapidly progressive scoliosis condition. MJ also has colitis and now weighs 102.5 lbs! He is verbal, and considered high-functioning. He understands pretty much what is going on.

Bracing wasn't recommended by a previous pediatric orthopedist. Rather, a wait and see approach was recommended for six months. Maybe he was concerned MJ would not tolerate wearing a brace. Six months later, we learned the curve had more than doubled. We were told it was too late to wear a brace and surgery was recommended.

While seeking a second opinion, we found a pediatric orthopedic surgeon who specializes in scoliosis and accepts our insurance. He really connects with MJ, supports our family and has good chemistry with us. The hospital staff also treats him with dignity and respect. This is a very important factor for us.

A recent MRI which MJ was put to sleep for, finds the curve well over 50 degrees. MJ is scheduled to have surgery on June 20th at Mount Sinai Hospital in NY. The surgery will be a "fusion with instrumentation from T-4 to L-2, perhaps shorter." Bending films find him to be "extremely flexible." His surgeon explained to him a need for four weeks of Procrit shots to help prepare his body for surgery, and for pain meds afterwards he can self-manage by pushing a button. The first shot will be on Tues.