Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions for people who already had surgery.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Questions for people who already had surgery.

* Did you have to wear a brace after surgery? For how long? How many hours a day?
    * How soon after sugery were you able to climb stairs, and go back to a somewhat "normal" activity level? (I'm 19 and I realize younger people tend to recover sooner.)
    * How much weight did you loose? (My Dr. said I'd probably loose weight, but he said the amount varied person to person.)
    * How much height did you gain? (I have a 55 degree lumber curve and expect to gain 1-2 inches).
    * What was your hospital experience like? Did you mostly sleep or just lie there?
    * How long before you were able to drive a car?
    * What did your physical therapy (if any) consist of?

Thanks in advance for your replies. My surgery is June 5th, and I'm not quite sure what to expect.

I wore my brace when I walked around and sitting. I wore it for three months and my doctor said to stop wearing it a couple of hours a day and then off completely. I climbed stairs about three days after surgery. I lost 15 pounds, I lost 10 when I got home from hospital and then another 5 pounds about two weeks later I haven't measured myself yet. In the hospital I watched TV lying down and walked the halls a lot. I haven't driven yet- I have to come off the meds first. I haven't had physical therapy yet, my doctor said I would going in a couple weeks.
    I am 44 years old and fused from T4 to L4. I had two curves- upper curve 49 and lower curve 58.

Have a safe surgery and speedy recovery.

Sue

Comment

* Did you have to wear a brace after surgery? For how long? How many hours a day?

I did not have to wear a brace at all after my surgery.

* How soon after sugery were you able to climb stairs, and go back to a somewhat "normal" activity level? (I'm 19 and I realize younger people tend to recover sooner.)