One week until surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• One week until surgery

I've been visiting this forum for several months now reading up on everyone's experiences. I've learned alot from this site and now that I'm facing my own surgery in 1 week I'm ready to ask a few questions.
    I'm having a spinal fusion from T4 to L4 on 5/14/07. Both curves are at about 80 degrees.

I'm married and I'm concerned about sleeping arrangements. My husband sometimes tosses and turns at night and I'm worried that if we share our bed that he could accidentally hurt me. I hate to boot him out of the bedroom if I don't have to. And if I do have to ask him to relocate, how long will I need to keep him on the couch?
    Does anyone have any recommendations?

Also, did anyone else have full blown panic attacks right before the surgery? I thought I was doing so well and then out of the blue I just couldn't stop crying. I can't believe I'm suddenly so scared of something that I thought I had accepted.

I appreciate any words of advice anyone has to offer. This site has been a tremendous help!

Lori
    37 yr old female
    5/14/07: Spinal fusion w/Titanium implants to correct 80 degree curves - T5 to L4
    7/30/07: Revision to remove screw from T12 that is abutting spinal cord

First of all, good luck with your surgery. Try not to think about all of the possibilities of things that could happen...it will drive you crazy! I went into my surgery with the attitude that I wouldn't worry about anything until I woke up and was told that I had something to worry about. It really did help keep me calm.