Surgery the end of May

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery the end of May

This is my first time posting to any online forum. Most of my questions about surgery have been answered and my fears/worries validated by those of you who are about to go through it and all of the support from those post op - thank you! I'm scheduled for surgery May 31 at Mass General. I have a 45 degree thorasic curve, a 55 degree lumbar curve, and a rib hump. Not quite sure yet what will be fused. I have a lot of pain in what feels like my hip/pelvis. The doctor says this could be from the curves and rotation of the spine. Anyone else with hip pain prior to surgery? Did it go away after the surgery? My back hurts after I stand or sit too long. I guess I want to be assured that the surgery and recovery period are worth the end result.
    I also worry about what it feels like to wake up after the operation. I was very sick after my 3 c sections and very itchy from the morphine - this was just from the spinal. I'm 41.

Has anyone had their surgery in two parts? I think I will have two operations four days apart so I'm not under for over 10 hours - this is what the doctor is telling me. I can't imagine I'll feel that great going into the second surgery.
    surgery 5-31-07
    Dr. Wood, Mass General
    Fused T10-L4
    Had 55 degree curve now 6 degrees

Hi Klein,

Welcome to this forum!!! I still remember my first post, and I often wonder why I waited so long to do it. This is the best place to be for information and support.

We have all had different surgeries and recoveries. So it hard to know exactly what it will be like. I had the surgery at the age of 45, from T-1 to L-5, and I had a rough recovery. But was it worth it??? I still have a rare bad day and I might say no, but most days I would say yes!!!