Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• which degree needs surgery?

Hi dear friends.
    I want to know at which degree we are forced to do a surgery?
    #1 - I am a girl with 40 degree Curve. Do I need a surgery ?
    I dont use a brace for about 2 years ! because my doctor said brace will not help me anymore because I am 22 years old
    but my degree is fix from 2 years a go until now.
    please help me.
    #2 - how can I decrease my curve ? i mean exept surgery
    22 years old - girl - 40 degree curve - to the left - no surgery yet

Some quick attempts at broad brush answers.

At 40 degrees the long term stability is an open question but I think few doctors would recomend surgery unless other problems were present.

The lack of progression over the last two years is a good sign. You need to keep an eye on the curves, save your x-rays etc.

Weight gain and child bearing seem to be troublemakers for increasing curves so keep fit and make taking care of yourself a priority.

Typically if you reach 50 degrees, the spine will continue to progress.

Comment

thank you for the reply
      any other ideas about me and my curve ?

Comment

hey,
        I have a 42 degree curve, and i'm 19... so done growing like you. Right now i have decided not to have surgery and just keep watching it because my back hurts a lot. If you aren't in a lot of discomfort, i'd say to just keep getting it checked and stay in shape... those are your best bets. There isn't really anything to make the curve better i don't think

Abbie
        aBbiE
        22 yr old F,KU college student
        Kyphoscoliosis...
        Scoliosis (25T, 23L) diagnosed @ 14 yrs old; curves June 08 were 45T, 32L with 18 degree rotation
        Kyphosis of 65 degrees...
        I am missing a lumbar vertebrae

Surgery 6/30/2008 with Dr. Lawrence Lenke
        Fused T2-L2

before/after pics
        all smiles!

Comment

Hi,