My surgery(s) are next week

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My surgery(s) are next week

Hello everyone again! First I want to thank all of you for your postings which have really helped me. I will be fused from the sacrum to T2. WHEW I am a former ICU nurse and never thought I would be on the receiving end of ET tubes,ventilator,art line etc. I am so lucky in that I have lots of support, love my surgeon, and the hospital is great. They even let me wander around the ICU last Friday so I could be familiar with the place.
    Questions:
    What helped you get through the week before surgery?? I do plan to do some "fun" stuff - legs waxed, pedicure.. but I wonder is it best to keep busy??
    I find that I am very worried about my family during the time I will be in surgery - 4 hours anterior, 10 hours posterior. I'll be out of it - but they will be going nuts waiting.
    Any suggestions about getting through this week will be most appreciated!
    Julie
    Julie B. 65 (felt like 85...now feel like 55!)
    April 17, 2007 Anterior...replaced 4 lumbar discs
    April 18 Posterior..fused T2 to sacrum plus 2 long screws from rods out to ilium
    Great correction...loooong recovery!!!

Hi Julie,

You are entering the home stretch. I think you are on the right track pampering yourself. It will be a little while for some of that to be done later. Don't for get to get your hair done too if you need to. I would say do all the lunches or dinners with friends, shop for comfy lounge wear and just enjoy yourself the week before your surgery. It is also a good idea to freeze some meals for later.