Glad to find all of you-

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Glad to find all of you-

I am new to this, and I am so very grateful to have all of you to guide me through this. No one else really understands what we go through. I find such comfort in finding others like myself, and even more comfort in finding answers to my many questions!!! I am scheduled for surgery the end of May and I am trying to stay upbeat. It is probably strange, but I fear waking up from surgery in incredible pain, or being severely nauseated more than anything else. Anyone have some advice or things to avoid? Thanks from another newbie-
    Lisa age 47
    T curve 69 degrees
    L curve 40 degrees more or less - compensatory
    fused to from T-3 to sacrum
    anterior and posterior surgeries completed June 1, 2007
    pushing hard in recovery !!

Welcome, welcome. We have all been newbies and know the fear and anxiety you are facing. One thing that we all have experienced is the worry about the unknown. This forum will help you find out a bit about what to expect.

You asked what to avoid. How about worrying yourself to death about everything. Those of us who have done this laughed at ourselves later at all the time spent worrying about things that turned out to be nothing!

As to waking up from surgery in incredible pain, no. I woke up and thought "wow it's over". I had excellent pain control. If you have had severe nausea in the past from anesthetic just mention this and they will give you something to prevent it. It worked great for a friend of mine who had surgery.

If you give us more information we can better inform you based on our own experiences. For example your age and where you will be fused. There is a lot of information here, you will be surprised. I don't think anyone sugar coats their experiences so you will get truthful answers you can believe. Remember though, we are all different. But, this will give you a good idea what lies ahead for you. Best wishes.