Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Other effects Scoliosis has on rest of body?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Other effects Scoliosis has on rest of body?

Hi all, I'm new to Scoliosis, so please forgive my ignorance. I'm wondering what other effects this has on the rest of the body. Can it disrupt things like hormones in women, gastrointestinal, muscle spasms, etc.?
    I'd appreciate any feedback.

thanks much!

hey!
    First off, don't apologize for asking!!! ) It's great that you're wanting to learn more. I don't know much about the science of it all, but I can tell you things I've noticed from personal experience. Scoliosis can cause back pain (sometimes alot) and neck pain, just from the stretching of the muscles that are being pulled or contracted by your spine. This pain can be muscle spasms in your back, or just a dull pain that's always present, or both. Generally, the pain can be helped by exercises, like stretches and strengthening (especially your core, like your abs and back muscles). By strengthening those, your muscles can help hold your spine straighter and it just makes your back feel better! The worse the curve gets, the more effects it would have on your body. Hormones aren't affected by it, though- it's all structural. If your spine is curved or rotated enough, however, it can start putting pressure on specific organs which may cause problems with breathing or gastrointestinal. This is only really an issue in the cases with curves greater than 60, though. I hope this helps!

Rachel

Comment

Back Problems

Hey whtdove

I have servere scoliosis and i've only been in this forum for the last month. I have back pain either when i do karate or i'm just having one of those weeks where my back gets really sore.

As my spine rotates its moves my rib cage around, in return squishing my lungs and heart, where it makes it that little bit harder for me to get a full breath of air.

Hope i havent scared you.
      Jacinta