Success stories YEARS after surgery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Success stories YEARS after surgery?

hello,all- I joined last year, summertime, and I have been lurking, when I'm able to get some computer time,. My question is this: how long after surgery do you continue to experience pain relief?

I am a nurse, and I work with an ortho surgeon, and he keeps advising me against the surgery. Now,I'm still fighting with my insurance (Tricare military) in order to obtain a second opinion from Dr Shelokov. So surgery may not even be an option for me. BUT! The ortho doc I work with tells me that the pain relief lessens with each post-op year. He said it's common for people to feel better the first year or so post-op, but then the pain returns.

I just wanted to ask everyone's opinion/ experience. Maybe there's other lurkers out there who have had surgery years ago- or perhaps everyone feels so much better post-op that they stop coming back to this forum? (because they're so active, we hope!!)

well thanks for reading, I am hoping, praying and working to obtain authorization to see Dr Shelokov. I hate managed care!!

God bless~ Jamie ""Scooter950"
    57 years old.
    thoracic curve 68 degrees
    lumbar-sacral curve +/- 41 degrees
    Cspine C3- C7 fusion Nov. 2011 <done! success!!>, then scoli surgery T2- L4 or maybe to sacrum.
    Discogram/ myelogram pending. Surgery to be scheduled, maybe fall 2015. <scared but I know this is not going to get better>
    THANKS TO EVERYONE FOR SHARING EXPERIENCES AND KNOWLEDGE!

Hi,