Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Siblings with Scoliosis

Hi,
    Just wondered how many of you out there have more than one sibling in the family with scoliosis? My daughter's surgeon saw my 7 year old for the first time during her sister's hospital stay. He immediately looked at me and said, "Keep an eye on her spine." My daughter's other surgeon said the same thing to my husband. I know it runs in families. I have a slight 10 degree curve and I am 43. My oldest daughter is 20 and doesn't have it. Scares me horribly to think of going through this a second time. Just curious to see the odds.

Peggy,

I myself have 53 curve...my daughter has a 25 plus we haven't checked in a while and my son 20 has a very slight one 12....
    so for me it runs in the family.

I have appointments this month to check my 14 year old son and my 12 year old daughter..........

my 9 year old son is to young and I don't see anything yet..in case your counting thats 5 kids.LOL.
    CONNIE

Surgery June 28th 2004
    fused T4 -L3
    Hip graft
    Grown 1 1/2 inches
    25/o upper T 15/o
    53/o T 15/o
    37/o L 6/o
    Dr. Micheal Nuewirth
    New York City

August 6, 2004
    Pulmonary Embolism
    complication from surgery

January 2007 currently
    increasing pain at the T4/5
    point irratation heardwear

Comment

Hi,
      I have five daughters. It will be easier if I just gave you a brief family history then list details about my kids.
      My mother's mother has scoliosis and had sugery but I am not sure what as it was a long time ago. My mother's sister has a curve as well. My mother has a very slight curve. I have a slight curve and slight rotation, but at 33 I have no progression. My husband (father of my eldest 4) (deceased) had twisted hips that gave him a great deal of problems and pain. One of his brothers ( he had 6) had a spinal fusion in the 70's and he still has a big hunch. Now to my children.
      Amber 14 ; 2 60+ curves. surgery next week.