No announcement yet.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hello Everyone!
    I am sooo glad I found this forum. What a great group of caring and helpful people you are! I really admire those of you who are safely on the other side of this surgery and still take the time to help those of us in "waiting".
    My surgery is scheduled for March 20, an A/P fusion from the sacrum up to level ? There is some debate about how far up to go at this point. I don't know my curves. I am in the same situation that has been described on this site- in my sixties with an untreated scoliosis who has had rapid progression over the past year. I have a history of back problems, probable polio as a young child, two lumbar lams for ruptured L4-5 disc in the early 80's. I am a former critical care nurse, and now work in wildlife rehabilitation. I have had to curtail my activities, and take a medical leave from the job I adore.Each year I take home about 250 wild birds and mammals to rehab, and also work in the oldest wildlife hospital in the US. I want my life back!!!! We see the surgeon on 2/6 and will have many more questions thanks to you folks.
    Thanks so much for the advice and support,
    Julie B.
    Julie B. 65 (felt like 85...now feel like 55!)
    April 17, 2007 Anterior...replaced 4 lumbar discs
    April 18 Posterior..fused T2 to sacrum plus 2 long screws from rods out to ilium
    Great correction...loooong recovery!!!

Hi Julie,
    I had surgery 5 weeks ago and want to encourage you- the first few days are of course a little rough but I am amazed how "normal" I feel after just a few weeks. Not much pain , just tired and trying to get used to my new body. I am 45, and there are plenty of people on here in their sixties that have come through just fine. You will do great! And you will be so glad when it is all overwith. I had a very complex surgery-curve 100 deg. and a very severe kyphosis, my back almost looks normal now! Good luck!
    Cathie

Comment