Debating on having surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Debating on having surgery

I am a 21 year old male getting ready to graduate college. I first found out I had scoliosis last august when I was having back pain. Went to the Dr's and found out I have a 47 degree curve. Right now i'm on pain pills to try to help. I've been debating on whether or not to get the surgery this summer to correct it. Of course, my mom doesn't want me to get it but my dad says to do what I want. I think i'm leaning towards getting it done but i'm not sure. If I do get it done now, i'll have plenty of time to recoup before I start working for a living. If anybody could respond to this and give me your opinion to what I should do, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Hi,

The thing about scoliosis surgery is that it's an elective surgery...the doctor's almost never tell u to have surgery ...they can recommend it...but they don't like to insist on it......I cannot tell u to have surgery but it's better to have it when your young...You don't have a base line xray , so you can't tell if it shifted relatively fast...I would wait not jump into it.....see if u can fight the pain with other methods...easy on the pain pills, addiction can creep on u without u knowing it....and too much pain meds can cause depression. I've been living with back pain all my life, but my curve was never bad...so i didn't have surgery.....now it started to shift fast .....and i'm not so young...so i'm having surgery.....good luck with your decision...also get more opinions ....
    CONNIE

Surgery June 28th 2004
    fused T4 -L3
    Hip graft
    Grown 1 1/2 inches
    25/o upper T 15/o
    53/o T 15/o
    37/o L 6/o
    Dr. Micheal Nuewirth
    New York City

August 6, 2004
    Pulmonary Embolism
    complication from surgery

January 2007 currently
    increasing pain at the T4/5
    point irratation heardwear

Comment