Physical Therapy is a joke

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Physical Therapy is a joke

I went to the Orthopedic Surgeon Monday. I have a 40 degree curve in my upper back (going to the right) and he sees a curve pushing my right shoulder blade out about ???? I can't remember the degree now but he said it was moderate. The hunch back thing I call it.
    My lower back has a 25 degree curve turning opposite of the upper curve.
    I asked apout bracing due to
    #1 pain and feeling like I am falling over
    #2 it has progressed 10 degrees in 2 years. ( seems like a lot to me)
    The Dr. said after I do the max. amount of Physical Therapy my Insc. will allow then they will do bracing if I think it will help.
    HELLO.... I see a problem since I am having surgery next week and 2 more over the next 3 months for something else. When I fnally get able to do P.T. it may be September.
    Is this normal to do P.T. first? I have done it before and does nothing.
    He said use NSAID's and moist heat. And continue the Narcotics and Neurontin I am on.
    Whaat is up with this , is it true to form of others????
    f.r.o.g.g.i.e.

With insurance this is pretty status quo. First you have to physical therapy to try and strengthen any weak muscles. The insurance has a magical number of visits for this. Then they will pay for other remedies. But those remedies must be done bfore surgery is considered. How you work rhis in around other operations is beyond me, but try to jump the hoops for now. Once you get past the magic number you can talk about a brace. This isn't a doctor thing it is an insurance decided thing. Frustrating any way you put it!!

Comment

onebabyfrog-

Do you mind me asking who your Ortho Dr is? I am in Virginia too and have a wonderful Dr.
      Alison
      Upper 98
      Lower 96
      3 surgeries Jan 02' Mar 02 & Sept 03'

Comment

New to this scoliosis "life"