Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What do you do for work?

Hi everyone,
    I was just wondering what occupations/work you do and whether it has any affect on your pain levels?
    I'm an Accountant and find that working at a desk job is really hard on my back, as I'm constantly in pain and it seems to be getting worse (I was diagnosed with a bony stress reaction on the verterbrae below my rods. This reaction is like a precurser to a stress fracture). I have exercises to help but its only a coping strategy at the moment. I need to find a new career!! Any insight into how different work situations affect you would be really appreciated. Thanks.

melissak
    T9-L4 52 degree curvature
    1992 Surgically corrected to about 19 degrees

Administration

Hey,

I'm an admin assistant and yes i get a lot of discomfort when im sitting at my desk for long periods of time and even when i have to stand up for a long period of time to photocopy my upper back starts to ache around near my top curve.

Lee
    Had surgery May 28th 2007 Anterior/Posterior getting fused from T3 - L3

http://curvedgirl.blogspot.com

Comment

I have for the last 15 years worked in an elementary school library. In September I switched from that job to one in the front office. I was going home so beat up feeling from all the up and down, shelving books, standing for 45 minutes at a time. The office job is mainly sitting down, but I am up as much as I am down, neither position for any long period of time without a change.
      Theresa

April 8 & 12, 2004 - Anterior/Posterior surgery 15 hours & 7 hours
      Thorasic - 79 degree down to 22
      Lumbar - 44 degree down to 18
      Fused T2 to sacrum
      June 2, 2005 - Pedicle subtraction osteotomy @L3 7 hours
      MAY 21, 2007 - Pedicle subtraction osteotomy @ L2, extended the fusion to S2 and added pelvic instrumentation 9 hours

FUSED T2 - SACRUM 2

Comment