post-op trouble affecting cello playing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• post-op trouble affecting cello playing

Hi there...this is my first time on the forum...
    I've been having a lot of trouble lately with upper back pain when I play cello and sometimes piano. It's gotten to the point where I can barely play for ten minutes without getting a really strange straining pain right around the top of my scar--I had an S-curve around 50 degrees on both top and bottom, and the rods extend almost down my whole back (I wish I knew the exact vertebrae). I did a lot of physical therapy this summer for my neck, and I think that this pain might be related to the leaning forward that I do when I play both instruments. I also think I'm developing kyphosis in the few vertebrae in my neck...my height went up about 2 inches after surgery but it's been steadily declining in the three years since then. My doctors have brushed it off and said it's because of differences in the height markers in offices, but I think I'm getting shorter because of the curvature of my neck. For the most part, the pain only occurs when I play, though it sometimes shows up when I swim or play volleyball. I really don't want my rods to affect my playing, music is a really important part of my life...any ideas or input, anyone? I'm getting really worried.

Hi Kate,